Free ATS plans for small recruiting agencies

On October 30, 2026, two of the ATS products we track publish a free plan on their own pricing page: Spectacled Starter and Zoho Recruit Free. OpenCATS is free, open-source software you host yourself. Bullhorn, Crelate, JobAdder, Loxo, Manatal, Recruit CRM and Recruiterflow list no free plan; most offer a free trial or a demo instead.

Updated · from each vendor's own site, checked the same day · Sources

Which ATS tools have a free plan, and what are the limits?

Three free options, each with a different catch: a seat and job limit, a one-job limit, or running the software yourself.

Free ATS plans and their limits, checked October 30, 2026
Free optionLimitsWhat it includesWhat it leaves outFirst paid plan
OpenCATSFree and open source; you host itNo plan limits; your own serverApplicant tracking and a recruiting CRM, maintained by the OpenCATS communityHosting, updates, backups and security are yours; no paid hosted option is listedNone
Spectacled StarterFree forever, no card1 seat, 5 active jobs, 500 candidates, 100 AI actions a monthThe full web app: every candidate graded A to D with the reason, client review links, CRM, careers site, Claude connectorMore seats and limits; the Chrome extension comes with Agency$99a seat a month, billed annually
Zoho Recruit Free"Forever Free"1 active job per recruiter licenseCandidate management, email management, interview scheduling, 8/5 supportSourcing, résumé management, premium job boards, a branded careers site and AI, which start on Standard; add-ons aren't supported$25a recruiter a month, billed yearly

Listed alphabetically. Zoho Recruit doesn't state a user or candidate limit for its free plan, and sells the same plans to in-house teams as well as agencies. OpenCATS' latest release is v0.11.1; its documentation covers what it needs to run.

Which agency ATS tools offer a free trial instead?

A trial shows you the paid product for a few weeks; then you pay or leave. Here is what each pricing page offers.

Free trials on agency ATS pricing pages, checked October 30, 2026
ProductFree planFree trialPaid plans from
BullhornNone"Bullhorn does not currently offer a free trial"$99 a user a month (Starter)
CrelateNoneYes; length not stated$85 a user a month, paid annually (Essentials, up to 2 users)
JobAdderNoneNone listed; "Book a demo""Request pricing"
LoxoNone7 days of Professional, no card$149 a user a month, billed annually, paid up front (Core, "starts at")
ManatalNone14 days, no card$15 a user a month, billed annually (Professional)
Recruit CRMNone30 days$95 a user a month, billed annually (Pro)
RecruiterflowNoneNot stated on its pricing page$119 a user a month, billed annually (Platform)
Zoho RecruitYes15 days of Enterprise, then the Free plan$25 a recruiter a month, billed yearly (Standard)

Every paid price, with the cost at 3, 10 and 25 seats: Agency ATS pricing in 2026.

When does a small agency outgrow a free ATS?

Usually the day a second recruiter joins or the fifth client role opens. Watch for these.

  1. A second recruiterSpectacled Starter is one seat; Zoho Recruit Free counts jobs per recruiter license.
  2. More open roles than the limitFive active jobs on Spectacled Starter, one per license on Zoho Recruit Free. Closed jobs don't count against an active-job limit.
  3. A bigger candidate databaseSpectacled Starter holds 500 candidates. Candidate import is a CSV, 500 rows a file.
  4. More AI writing than the allowanceStarter includes 100 AI actions a month. Grading candidates is never counted against it.
  5. Time spent running serversOpenCATS costs nothing to license; the hosting, updates and backups take someone's time.

Which free option fits your agency?

Each one suits a different starting point.

Which free option to look at first, by situation
If youLook first at
Want full control of the code and your server, and have someone to run itOpenCATS
Hire for one role at a time and want a free plan from a large software suiteZoho Recruit Free
Are a recruiter on your own, working several client roles, and want each candidate graded with the reason and sent to clients without a loginSpectacled Starter
Need a full staffing platform from day oneA trial of a paid plan; see the table above

Free ATS questions

Is there a free ATS for recruiting agencies?
Yes. Spectacled Starter is free forever for one seat, with 5 active jobs, 500 candidates and 100 AI actions a month, and no card. Zoho Recruit has a free plan with one active job per recruiter license, and OpenCATS is free open-source software you host yourself. Checked October 30, 2026.
What's the catch with a free ATS?
Limits. Free plans cap seats, active jobs or candidates, and self-hosted software moves hosting, updates and backups onto you. Check which limit you'll reach first: for most solo recruiters it's the number of open roles.
Does Loxo have a free plan?
No. Loxo's pricing page lists no free plan. It offers a 7-day free trial of Professional with no card, and Core starts at $149 per user per month, billed annually and paid up front.
Does Bullhorn have a free plan or trial?
No. Bullhorn lists no free plan, and its small-agency pricing page says "Bullhorn does not currently offer a free trial". Starter is $99 per user per month.
Is OpenCATS really free?
Yes. OpenCATS describes itself as free, open-source applicant tracking and recruiting CRM software maintained by its community. You host it yourself, so the cost is your server and the time to run it.
What happens when I outgrow Spectacled Starter?
Move to Professional at $99 a seat a month billed annually, or $119 month to month, with unlimited jobs, candidates and AI actions. Your candidates, jobs and clients stay where they are.

Sources

  1. OpenCATS, opencats.org, checked October 30, 2026.
  2. Spectacled, spectacled.ai/pricing.html, October 30, 2026.
  3. Zoho Recruit, zoho.com/recruit/pricing.html, checked October 30, 2026.
  4. Bullhorn, bullhorn.com/small-agency-software/pricing; Crelate, crelate.com/pricing; JobAdder, jobadder.com/pricing; Loxo, loxo.co/pricing; Manatal, manatal.com/pricing; Recruit CRM, recruitcrm.io/pricing; Recruiterflow, recruiterflow.com/pricing. All checked October 30, 2026.

Spotted something out of date? Email hello@spectacled.ai and we'll correct the page and its date. All comparisons

Start on the free plan today.

One seat, 5 active jobs and 500 candidates, with every candidate graded and no card. Or book 20 minutes and we'll walk your first role through it.

  • 20 minutes on video. Pick a time on the calendar.
  • Bring your quote. We'll compare it line by line.
  • Or start on your own. The free plan needs no card.